Dutch authorities introduced new entry visa exemptions for third country visa nationals and their accompanying family members planning to reside and work in the Netherlands for over three (3) months. Since 1 October 2015, the following categories of foreign nationals are eligible for this entry visa waiver:

  • Individuals with a valid residence status in another Schengen country  applying  in the Netherlands via a Recognised Sponsor (‘Erkend Referent’), including highly skilled migrants, scientific researchers, labour migrants, students and foreign nationals participating in exchange programs
  • Individuals with a valid work and residence status in another EU Member  State providing cross-border services in the Netherlands under the notion  of ‘freedom to provide services’  ( as established under the ‘Vander Elst’- ruling)
  • Individuals applying for a ‘start-up’ entrepreneurial residence permit in the Netherlands.

The new entry visa exemptions allow for simplified and expedited processes for these individuals and their businesses. Individuals benefiting from the waiver as mentioned above can enter the Netherlands on the basis of their valid passports, foreign residence permits and/ or Schengen visas, depending on their nationality.

What is a MVV?

A MVV (‘authorization to reside in the Netherlands) is a Dutch visa enabling the applicant to enter the Netherlands if the duration of the assignment/ transfer will exceed 3 months. The assignee (and family) will have to submit the entry visa application at the Dutch consulate/embassy having jurisdiction over the place of residence in the home country or country of legal stay. (The country of legal stay is the country in which the assignee can stay legally for more than three months on the basis of a residence permit). A MVV is only required for applicants who also require a visa to enter the Netherlands (Visa Nationals), and is valid for 3 months, i.e. the applicant has max 3 months to travel to the Netherlands with this visa.

What is the Schengen Area and which countries are part of the Schengen Agreement?

The Schengen Area is the area comprising 26 European countries that have abolished passport and immigration controls at their common borders, also referred as internal borders. It functions as a single country for international travel purposes, with a common visa policy. The Area is named after the Schengen Agreement. Countries in the Schengen Area have eliminated internal border controls with the other Schengen members, and strengthened external border controls with non-Schengen states. The following countries adhere to the Schengen Agreement and their territory is in the Schengen Area:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland

Please feel free to contact the EMG team in case of questions or comments in this respect via info@expatmanagementgroup.com or via one of your EMG contact persons directly.